Dalmatia - Split

The Jewel of an Empire

In AD 305, the world’s most powerful man, Emperor Diocletian, was faced with the decision on where to spend the rest of his

days. Of all of the known world, he chose to build his home in the heart of the region of Dalmatia, setting the first stones in

place for the future city of Split.


Follow in his footsteps by exploring Diocletian’s Palace and a region home to islands, stunning natural landscapes such as

Biokovo Mountain and Zlatni Rat beach on the island of Brač, and a wealth of culture that will defy your expectations. 


Where to go

POI image

Biokovo Nature Park

Biokovo is the highest mountain on the Croatian coast.

POI image

Diocletian’s Palace in Split and the Ancient Town of Salona in Solin

The first urban dwellings in this area were built in Roman times, as evidenced by Emperor Diocletian’s Palace (included on the UNESCO World Heritage List) and the entire town of Salona, which was once the capital of the Roman province of Dalmatia.

POI image

River Cetina

At the foot of Dinara, Croatia’s highest mountain, flows the River Cetina, linking Vrlika, Sinj, Trilj and Omiš along its 105-kilometre course. The sparkling waters of the Cetina particularly appeal to rafting and canoeing enthusiasts.

POI image

Sanctuary of Our Lady of Sinj

The sancturary is the most significant Marian shrine in Dalmatia and houses the gold-crowned painting of Our Miraculous Lady of Sinj, which was brought there in 1687 by Franciscans fleeing Rama from the Turks.

POI image

Stari Grad Plain and the Town of Hvar

A protected area, the Stari Grad Plain is on the UNESCO World Heritage List and represents the best-preserved Greek parcelisation of land on the Mediterranean. It is over 2,400 years old and was once an important maritime and trade port.

POI image

Trogir – Romanesque Town Centre

The old town centre is surrounded by walls and features a well-preserved castle, tower and numerous other buildings and palaces dating from the Roman, Gothic and Baroque periods. The town has been added to the UNESCO World Heritage List.